Wyoming Dialysis Technician Requirements

The Wyoming Department of Health, specifically the Office of Health Quality, is responsible for overseeing End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) clinics, or dialysis centers, and establishing the requirements for these facilities. Wyoming law defines a “Dialysis technician [as] a person who has successfully completed a core curriculum consisting of didactic and clinical classes in:

  1. Understanding the person with renal failure,

  2. Principles of dialysis,

  3. Hemodialysis devices,

  4. Hemodialysis procedures,

  5. Dialyzer reprocessing,

  6. Water treatment, and

(vii) Infection Control”

Beyond this Wyoming requires each ESRD facility to be federally certified which means they must comply with the standards set by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) in 2008. The following is an excerpt from the Conditions for Coverage released by CMS the requirements to become a certified hemodialysis technician (CHT) or patient care dialysis technician (PCT):


Standard: Patient care dialysis technicians.

Patient care dialysis technicians must—

(1) Meet all applicable State requirements for education, training, credentialing, competency, standards of practice, certification, and licensure in the State in which he or she is employed as a dialysis technician; and

(2) Have a high school diploma or equivalency;

(3) Have completed a training program that is approved by the medical director and governing body, under the direction of a registered nurse, focused on the operation of kidney dialysis equipment and machines, providing direct patient care, and communication and interpersonal skills, including patient sensitivity training and care of difficult patients. The training program must include the following subjects:

(i) Principles of dialysis.

(ii) Care of patients with kidney failure, including interpersonal skills.

(iii) Dialysis procedures and documentation, including initiation, proper cannulation techniques, monitoring, and termination of dialysis.

(iv) Possible complications of dialysis.

(v) Water treatment and dialysate preparation.

(vi) Infection control.

(vii) Safety.

(viii) Dialyzer reprocessing, if applicable.

(4) Be certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program, as follows—

(i) For newly employed patient care technicians, within 18 months of being hired as a dialysis patient care technician; or

(ii) For patient care technicians employed on October 14, 2008, within 18 months after such date.


By meeting these requirements you can work in a dialysis center in the state of Wyoming. Exact job description is designated by the dialysis center and should be promulgated in writing.

To comply with paragraph 4 and be “certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program” Wyoming maintains its own certification process as mentioned above. Wyoming does, however, accept national certification as well. Therefore, you may pass an exam administered by one of the following organizations and you will be recognized within Wyoming as a Dialysis technician:

National Certification Programs

1. Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)

Phone number: (888) 884-6622

2. Board of Nephrology Examiners for Nursing and Technology (BONENT)

Phone number: (202) 462-1252

3. National Nephrology Certification Organization (NNCO)

Phone number: (212) 356-0660

To prepare for the exam and meet the training requirements in paragraph 3 of the CMS instruction, several online and campus-based schools in Wyoming offer programs with a dialysis technician centric curriculum. Some of the top choices in Wyoming are: (or can be found here)

To learn more about the national certification organizations including exam prices, frequency of administration and study guides look here.

The average salary for a dialysis technician in the Equality or Cowboy State is $26,000.