Mississippi Dialysis Technician Requirements

The Mississippi Board of Nursing oversees certification of dialysis technicians within the state and has clearly laid out the process in Administrative Code Title 30: Professions and Occupations. Part 2860 is all about Certified Clinical Hemodialysis Technicians (CCHT) and includes how to become certified by examination or by endorsement, how to renew or reinstate your certification, the authorized and prohibited functions of a CCHT, and the grounds for disciplinary action. Certification by examination is how new applicants become certified in Mississippi and the requirements are listed below. Review the administrative code, part 2860, for more details.

  1. Applicants for certification as a hemodialysis technician by examination shall submit the following to the board:

    1. A completed board application:

    2. Official written evidence of a diploma or GED from an approved high school or the equivalent thereof, as determined by the appropriate education agency;

    3. Official written evidence of successful completion of an in-state hemodialysis technician program approved by the board;

    4. Evidence of competence in English related to healthcare/nursing provided the first language is not English;

    5. Official written evidence of employment, if employed as a technician for five (5) years or longer;

    6. Evidence of successful completion of the Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC), the Board of Nephrology Examiners for Nursing and Technology (BONENT); or the National Nephrology Certification Organization (NNCO); and

    7. Any other official records required by the board;

  2. Applicants for certification by examination for CCHT with five (5) years or more experience shall be able to waive the theory component of a training program, but shall be required to perform at least (45) RN supervised cannulations.

  3. The passing score for the examination shall be a standard score as recommended by the NNCC national certifying entity or its successor and adopted by the board.

  4. An applicant for reexamination must submit a reexamination and required nonrefundable fees by the deadline date established by the board.

Since the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) established national standards in 2008, below is an excerpt from the Conditions for Coverage released by CMS outlining the requirements to become a certified hemodialysis technician (CHT) or patient care dialysis technician (PCT):


Standard: Patient care dialysis technicians.

Patient care dialysis technicians must—

(1) Meet all applicable State requirements for education, training, credentialing, competency, standards of practice, certification, and licensure in the State in which he or she is employed as a dialysis technician; and

(2) Have a high school diploma or equivalency;

(3) Have completed a training program that is approved by the medical director and governing body, under the direction of a registered nurse, focused on the operation of kidney dialysis equipment and machines, providing direct patient care, and communication and interpersonal skills, including patient sensitivity training and care of difficult patients. The training program must include the following subjects:

(i) Principles of dialysis.

(ii) Care of patients with kidney failure, including interpersonal skills.

(iii) Dialysis procedures and documentation, including initiation, proper cannulation techniques, monitoring, and termination of dialysis.

(iv) Possible complications of dialysis.

(v) Water treatment and dialysate preparation.

(vi) Infection control.

(vii) Safety.

(viii) Dialyzer reprocessing, if applicable.

(4) Be certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program, as follows—

(i) For newly employed patient care technicians, within 18 months of being hired as a dialysis patient care technician; or

(ii) For patient care technicians employed on October 14, 2008, within 18 months after such date.


By meeting these requirements you can work in a dialysis center in the state of Mississippi. Exact job description is designated by the dialysis center and should be promulgated in writing.

To comply with paragraph 4 and be “certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program” Mississippi maintains its own certification process as mentioned above. Mississippi does, however, accept national certification as well. Therefore, you may pass an exam administered by one of the following organizations and you will be recognized within Mississippi as a Dialysis technician:

National Certification Programs

1. Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)

Phone number: (888) 884-6622

2. Board of Nephrology Examiners for Nursing and Technology (BONENT)

Phone number: (202) 462-1252

3. National Nephrology Certification Organization (NNCO)

Phone number: (212) 356-0660

To prepare for the exam and meet the training requirements in paragraph 3 of the CMS instruction, several online and campus-based schools in Mississippi offer programs with a dialysis technician centric curriculum. Some of the top choices in Mississippi can be found here.

The average salary for a dialysis technician in the Magnolia State is $36,000.