Colorado Dialysis Technician Requirements
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) is the agency responsible for overseeing End-Stage Renal Disease Centers and outlining Colorado dialysis technician requirements in these facilities. Colorado law, see CCR 1011-1 section 5.5, falls right in line with the national requirements laid out by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and only states you must be nationally certified within 18 months of employment at a dialysis clinic.
Below is an excerpt from the Conditions for Coverage instruction by CMS listing the requirements to become a certified hemodialysis technician (CHT) or patient care dialysis technician (PCT). This national requirement was put in effect in 2008:
Standard: Patient care dialysis technicians.
Patient care dialysis technicians must—
(1) Meet all applicable State requirements for education, training, credentialing, competency, standards of practice, certification, and licensure in the State in which he or she is employed as a dialysis technician; and
(2) Have a high school diploma or equivalency;
(3) Have completed a training program that is approved by the medical director and governing body, under the direction of a registered nurse, focused on the operation of kidney dialysis equipment and machines, providing direct patient care, and communication and interpersonal skills, including patient sensitivity training and care of difficult patients. The training program must include the following subjects:
(i) Principles of dialysis.
(ii) Care of patients with kidney failure, including interpersonal skills.
(iii) Dialysis procedures and documentation, including initiation, proper cannulation techniques, monitoring, and termination of dialysis.
(iv) Possible complications of dialysis.
(v) Water treatment and dialysate preparation.
(vi) Infection control.
(viii) Dialyzer reprocessing, if applicable.
(4) Be certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program, as follows—
(i) For newly employed patient care technicians, within 18 months of being hired as a dialysis patient care technician; or
(ii) For patient care technicians employed on October 14, 2008, within 18 months after such date.
By meeting these requirements you can work in a dialysis center in the state of Colorado. Exact job description is designated by the dialysis center and should be promulgated in writing.
To meet the requirements of paragraph 4 and be “certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program” Colorado has opted to accept national certification as opposed to developing their own state program. Therefore, you must pass an exam administered by one of the following organizations to become certified as a dialysis technician:
National Certification Programs
Phone number: (888) 884-6622
Phone number: (202) 462-1252
Phone number: (212) 356-0660
To prepare for the exam and meet the training requirements in paragraph 3 of the CMS instruction several online and campus based schools in Colorado offer programs with a dialysis technician centric curriculum. Some of the top choices in Colorado can be found here.
The average salary for a dialysis technician in the Centennial State is $49,000.