Arizona Dialysis Technician Requirements
The state of Arizona has very loose requirements to become a hemodialysis technician. Their law states that all one needs is to be certified by a national certification organization within two (2) years of employment at a dialysis center. This state law predates the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) regulations for dialysis technicians and in cases like this you combine the two standards and go with the more strict regulation where there are conflicts.
A good example is Arizona state law says you can start working as a hemodialysis technician as long as you get nationally certified within two (2) years, CMS says you may start working in a dialysis center but have 18 months to achieve national certification. In this case, the 18 month rule applies because it is more strict.
Because all states must comply with the federal rules and since Arizona does not require anything that falls outside what CMS put forth we have included an excerpt from the Conditions for Coverage instruction listing the requirements to be a certified hemodialysis technician (CHT) or patient care dialysis technician (PCT):
Standard: Patient care dialysis technicians.
Patient care dialysis technicians must—
(1) Meet all applicable State requirements for education, training, credentialing, competency, standards of practice, certification, and licensure in the State in which he or she is employed as a dialysis technician; and
(2) Have a high school diploma or equivalency;
(3) Have completed a training program that is approved by the medical director and governing body, under the direction of a registered nurse, focused on the operation of kidney dialysis equipment and machines, providing direct patient care, and communication and interpersonal skills, including patient sensitivity training and care of difficult patients. The training program must include the following subjects:
(i) Principles of dialysis.
(ii) Care of patients with kidney failure, including interpersonal skills.
(iii) Dialysis procedures and documentation, including initiation, proper cannulation techniques, monitoring, and termination of dialysis.
(iv) Possible complications of dialysis.
(v) Water treatment and dialysate preparation.
(vi) Infection control.
(viii) Dialyzer reprocessing, if applicable.
(4) Be certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program, as follows—
(i) For newly employed patient care technicians, within 18 months of being hired as a dialysis patient care technician; or
(ii) For patient care technicians employed on October 14, 2008, within 18 months after such date.
By meeting these requirements you can work in a dialysis center in the state of Arizona. Exact job description is designated by the dialysis center and should be promulgated in writing.
To meet the requirements of paragraph 4 and be “certified under a State certification program or a national commercially available certification program” Arizona has opted to accept national certification as opposed to developing their own state program. Therefore, you must pass an exam administered by one of the following organizations to become certified as a dialysis technician:
Phone number: (888) 884-6622
Phone number: (202) 462-1252
Phone number: (212) 356-0660
To prepare for the exam and meet the training requirements in paragraph 3 of the CMS instruction several online and campus based schools in Arizona offer programs with a dialysis technician centric curriculum. Some of the top choices in Arizona can be found here.
The average salary for a dialysis technician in the Grand Canyon State is $43,000.